The First Ever Round The World Solar Flight

solar-power

20th June 2016 is about to become another landmark day for endorsers of the sun. Bertrand Piccard and André Borschberg have set out to achieve something that still seems impossible today – the first round-the-world solar flight, powered only by the sun, with no fuel or polluting emissions.

The record-breaking solo flight of five days and five nights without fuel from Nagoya to Hawaii gives a clear message – everybody can use the plane’s technologies on the ground to cut down the world’s energy consumption by half, save natural resources and improve our quality of life. This message is being spread by the pilots to the general public, students, key decision-makers and entrepreneurs all over the world.

Bertrand Piccard and André Borschberg are founders of Solar Impulse, a Swiss long-range experimental solar-powered aircraft project. In line with the Piccard family tradition of scientific exploration and protection of the environment, Solar Impulse wants to demonstrate that using clean technologies can achieve impossible goals.

Bertrand Piccard just embarked on the first solo transatlantic crossing in a solar-powered airplane. He took off from JFK, New York at 6:30AM UTC, 8:30AM CET and 2:30AM EDT on June 20th 2016 and will be landing at Seville Airport, Spain approximately 90 hours later.

Even though you can’t physically be in the cockpit, Solar Impulse has prepared its material in such a way that you too can be a part of this four day adventure. Watch the flight in motion live on their website.

solar-impulse

Image source: Solar Impulse website

Add Comment